Search Blog Results

  • Thursday, February 9, 2017

  • CUI

  • Kamran Lashari

Every year, TWAS awards nine prizes of USD 15,000/- each in the following fields:

 - Agricultural sciences;
 - Biology;
 - Chemistry;
 - Earth;
 - Astronomy and space sciences;
 - Engineering sciences;
 - Mathematics;
 - Medical sciences;
 - Physics;
 - Social sciences;

Each prize is accompanied by a medal. Prizes are usually presented on a special occasion, often coinciding with the General Meeting of TWAS.


Candidates for a TWAS Prize must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination. They must meet at least one of the following qualifications:

 > Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
 > Outstanding contribution to the application of science and technology to sustainable development.
 > Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for TWAS Prizes.
 > Self-nominations will not be considered.

Scientific field the nominations if for (only one):

 > Suggested citation (20-25 words highlighting the nominee's scientific
 > Supporting statement which should explain carefully the work performed by the
   nominee, its significance and justification to its outstanding nature. The
   outstanding contribution may be defined in relation to existing opportunities
   and realistic possibilities available to the candidate. This applies
   particularly to candidates from scientifically disadvantaged countries
 > Biographical sketch of the nominee in NARRATIVE style. Information on any
   time spent abroad of the home country in the past ten years is to be clearly
 > Degrees obtained
 > Professional appointments
 > Membership in academies and societies
 > List of 12 most significant publications listed in an internationally
   acceptable format.
 > The nominee's CV and her/his complete list of publications are also to be
   uploaded onto the online platform.
 > H-index (preference is given to the "h-index in Google Scholar) and number of
 > Contact details (especially email addresses) of five referees covering a wide
   geographical distribution, whom we can contact regarding the nominee's work.
 > The nominee's CV and her/his complete list of publications are also to be
   uploaded onto the online platform.
 > Authorization from the nominee to process his/her personal data for the
   purposes of his/her nomination, in conformity to Art. 13 of the Italian
   Legislative Decree 196/2003. This authorization can only be submitted through
   the online platform.

How to Apply:

As the organizers has set 10 March, 2017, therefore, it will be highly appreciated if the nominations along with all required documents may please be submitted to this office till March 10, 2017 for further processing and onward submission to TWAS for consideration.

For more details please visit:

  • Tuesday, August 23, 2016

  • CUI

  • Kamran Lashari

Opportunity on the subject received from HEC is submitted for kind information with the request to nominate suitable faculty members. Nomination along with all required documents may please be reached to this office till September 05, 2016 through the Director of Concerned Campus for further processing and onward submission to concerned.

 Files are attached

  • Tuesday, July 26, 2016

  • CUI

  • Kamran Lashari

Burapha International University Chon buri Thailand organized a ten days summer camp for
cultural exchange in which 20 potential candidates from six different countries were hand picked out of 500 contenders from all over Asia to represent their countries. Five students from Pakistan were selected based on their overall exceptional individual performances both academic and co curricular activities. Following three students from COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Islamabad, one student from NUST University Islamabad and one from Government College University Lahore were finally selected:

  1. Junaid Ghazali,
  2. Anisa Ayub,
  3. Kahkishan Khalid

A competition took place among all the 20 international students from Pakistan, China, India, Vietnam, Cambodia and Indonesia to write an essay about the experience and lesson learned at the camp after spending ten days there in which third place was secured by Ms. Kehkishan Khalid student of CIIT Islamabad, Second awarded to Joe Sanders of Kunming University China and First place acquired by Mr. Muhammad Junaid Ghazali from CIIT

A high honor award was presented to Muhammad Junaid Ghazali by Dr Ritthikorn Siriprasertchok, Vice President. The hard and innovative efforts of Ghazali were well highly appreciated by the Vice President of Burapaha University. He also praised CIIT for producing students who gave an all-round brilliant performance in every single event of the camp.

Click here for picture

Leave a comment.. Read Comments (0)

Prizes, University, Thailand

  • Monday, June 27, 2016

  • CUI

  • International Office

The Islamic Development Bank established the IDB Prizes for Science  and Technology in 1422H (2001G). These prizes underscore the  commitment to mustering the application of relevant contemporary  scientific advancement for the socio-economic welfare of Member  Countries by rewarding excellence among the academic and research  institutions.

The objectives of the IDB Prizes for Science & Technology stand to:

 - Acknowledge and encourage the achievements of the successful institutions;
 - Promote sound and fruitful competition among the science and technology
   education and research institutions in Member Countries towards achieving
 - Raise awareness of policy among decision makers about the present and
   potential contribution of science and technology to sustainable  development.

The IDB Prizes for S&T consist of three (3) prizes awarded on the  occasion of the Annual Meeting of the IDB Board of Governors. Each  prize will consist of a cash award of one hundred thousand (100,000)  US dollars, a trophy and a certificate mentioning the name of the  winner and its accomplishments.

PRIZE CATEGORIES:  The Prizes are awarded only to institutions (not to
individuals) in IDB member countries in the following categories:

Category 1:  Outstanding scientific or technological contribution to  the socio-
             economic development of a member country.

Category 2:  Outstanding contribution to any of the following scientific
             disciplines: Engineering; Agriculture; Medicine; Biotechnology;
             Information Technology; Optronics; Material Sciences;
             Pharmaceutical; Industrial Microelectronics; Nanotechnology and
             alternative Energy Sources.

Category 3:  Noted scientific research institutions in IDB least developed
             member countries (LDMCs).

For more information and downloading of application form please visit:

N.B: IO Focal Persons are requested to submit the completed forms  along with their attachments to this office till November 7, 2016  through the Director of  concerned Campus for further processing and  onward submission to concerned.